You may have noticed the self-assign button on your parent dashboard. What is this feature you may wonder? The self assign setting is a fantastic tool that you, as a parent, can use to help engage your child on EdPlace and ensure they are able to find support for what they are doing at school. Let us explain more about how this works and then you can decide whether to turn this setting on or off!
When you log in to your account at www.edplace.com/parent on our website, you will see a snapshot view of your child's account on your homepage:
Please note, this option is only available in our web-based parent account and cannot be viewed or amended within our apps.
Next to the heading 'Self Assign Activities', you will be able to turn this option ON or OFF for each of the children linked to your account individually. We recommend that this is turned ON for all children, but particularly older students unless you have a particular reason to turn it OFF. (To learn more about the Recommendations setting, please click here.)
If you have this turned ON, your child will have the option to browse EdPlace activities and assign work to their own account.
In your child's account on our website or apps, an option to 'Browse' will appear on their homepage. If they click on the 'Browse' tab or button, they will be directed into a page to explore the activities available which are linked to their current year group:
On the website, there will be two toggles your child can flip between - 'Learn' and 'Revise' - which will define the type of activities they will see. If they want to be introduced to a concept from the start, they should select 'Learn'; but if they want to prepare for an upcoming test with exam-style questions or practice papers, they should choose 'Revise'.
In the apps this is slightly different, as they have 'Activities', 'Revision' and 'Assessments' tabs in their top border to move between. To find out more about how EdPlace can support your child's preparation for key milestones and exams, please click here.
If your child changes the year group showing in the dropdown (on our website) or top border (on the apps), they will be able to explore all activities from previous or future year groups. This can be really helpful if they need to revise a tricky concept which they have already learnt at school or if they are looking for a challenge or to get ahead.
On the website when they spot a topic that looks interesting or useful, they can click on the '+' icon to see all possible activities. If they have already tried an activity, a score will be shown to make this clear to them. If they want to assign an activity to themselves, they simply need to click on the '+ Assign' button:
On the apps, this process is slightly different. They need to click on a topic, then they will see all possible activities linked to that topic but they will not be able to see their previous scores:
Once they have successfully assigned an activity to themself, it will appear under the 'Assigned to you' section of their To Do List, along with any activities you have assigned them as their parent:
Hopefully, you now have all the info you need to decide whether to keep 'Self assign' turned ON or OFF for your child or children. There is not a one-size-fits-all approach to this; different children may find it helpful and motivating, whilst others could find it stressful and distracting. Having the option to turn it ON or OFF allows you to make the best choice for your child as an individual.
If you have any further questions about the self-assign setting or any other options you have for your child's account, please contact our friendly Customer Support Team via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.